Gabriela Sleeps in the Backyard

by moxielicious

MV5BODkwNzg1MzE0NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwODc5OTMwNw@@._V1._SX214_CR0,0,214,314_At the heart of Jose Rivera’s play about love and longing is Gabriela, a woman whose yearning for her soul mate drives her to sleep in her back yard under the light of the moon. Jacqueline Grace Lopez is a singer/songwriter with her own album, A Global Soul, released in 2009. She also plays Gabriela and we caught up with her for an interview as part of our on-going series on the MOXIE blog with the cast of References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot which begins previews this Saturday at 8pm.

Before we talk about Gabriela and the play, will you tell us how you became an actress?

I started in community musical theater when I was in grade school. I think my first production was “Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat.” I wanted to be Joseph. Clearly I had lofty ambitions.

You work in so many different fields, what have you been doing recently?

Last year I completed two films “The Three Canvases” and “Gregslist” and most recently have become a guest blogger for comic book creator Stan Lee’s new website TheRealStanLee.com.

How are you enjoying the process of working on “Dali”?

This has been by far one of the most arduous rehearsal processes of my career, which means that it will be one of the most rewarding. To be perfectly honest, the pace was a little daunting but I know the experiences I have every day of rehearsal are helping me grow as an actor and as a person.

What is your greatest challenge in working on the play been so far?

MEMORIZING LINES. I have never been more jealous of other members of the cast. Since day one I’ve seen this play as an ensemble piece so I got upset I was given a bigger slice of the “lines” pie. Joking aside, only recently have I started to really come into the emotional state of the character. There has been a level of trepidation to get into the emotional reality of Gabby because her mind wanders and sits in places where the average person would not feel comfortable. I chose this profession to be emotionally available and expressive and I’m learning sometimes we have to go to the dark places and sit in them to grow as  human beings.

What do you think audiences will love the most about the play?

The leather pants that Steve wears.

The dream reality of this show allows for a lot that is said and unsaid between people to be brought to the light. I think there will be dialogue after the show about dreaming and waking up and which world is the better to live in.

If you want to catch Jacqueline as Gabriela in “References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot” buy your tickets now at www.moxietheatre.com/dali or call 858-598-7620. “Dali” is playing April 6 – May 5, 2013 at MOXIE Theatre. Tickets $20-$40. Groups of 10+ are $15 and groups of 15+ are $10.

