Meet Coyote

by moxielicious

Image

Can you see why we did it? When you’re looking for an actor to play an animal character you can’t look for someone who resembles a coyote. And if you did find an actor covered in fur who walks on all fours, it’s unlikely they would be able to handle the incredible language in Jose Rivera’s “References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot”. So you have to look for someone who embodies the spirit of coyote and from the first few moments of his audition it was clear Steven Lone knows Coyote. We had a chance to chat with Steven about the show and the role he plays in it in our ongoing series of interviews with cast of “Dali”
Before we talk about Coyote, tell us how you started your career in acting?

Steven: I got into acting in high school. It was my Junior year and I was taking an acting class for fun and hopefully an easy “A”, when the teacher asked if I would be interested in auditioning for the school play “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”. I ended up getting the part and discovering my new crush. Theatre.

Our audiences may recognize you from your recent performance in Zoot Suit at the San Diego Rep. Can you tell us about that?

ImageIt was one of the biggest productions I have ever worked on, both from a technical and cast size standpoint. With all its challenges, the show went on without a hitch, and I got the pleasure and honor to work alongside the playwrights son and meet the playwright himself (Luis Valdez) for a very enlightening conversation.
(Steven is pictured here in Zoot Suit at the San Diego Rep in 2012. Photo by Daren Scott)
How are you enjoying the process of working on “Dali”?

Dali has been a lot of fun to work on. As a cast I feel like we’ve all clicked rather quickly, and everyone is pretty supportive of the each other, which is important for a show like this which requires its actors to go to some very vulnerable places with each other. I have to say that this is one of the very few casts I’ve been a part of where every single person involved has an incredible work ethic and also knows how to have fun throughout the process.

So tell me about Coyote. What’s it like playing him?

My scenes are raw, sensual, erotic and funny (at least that’s what I’m aiming for). I think the challenge for me is to play the different layers in the scenes. The easy route would be to play the “sex” in the scene, meaning, hitting all the innuendos and playing it literal. Ultimately, I think you lose and bore the audience that way. My work has been on adding dimension not only to the scenes, but to the character itself, humanizing him in a way and hopefully adding depth to this animal on stage. Because that, in my opinion, is sexy.

What do you think audiences will love the most about the play?
The first time I read it I was in love with the language. The way these characters speak is both raw and real, soft and poetic. It’s really beautiful to hear.

 

If you want to catch Steven Lone as Coyote in “References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot” buy your tickets now at www.moxietheatre.com/dali or call 858-598-7620. “Dali” is playing April 6 – May 5, 2013 at MOXIE Theatre. Tickets $20-$40. Groups of 10+ are $15 and groups of 15+ are $10.

