A View From a Bridge of Fart Jokes – A Journey Through HICKORYDICKORY

by moxielicious

ImageI have a confession to make.  I’m a 28 year old woman who still thinks farts are the most hilarious thing on the planet.  I can’t help it.  If I hear someone rip one…….I’m doubled over laughing uncontrollably.  It makes me feel like marching off to Neverland with the Lost Boys singing “I don’t want to grow up.”  Some may call my behavior “childish” or “immature”……but I like to think I am embracing these moments in life that keep us young at fart.  I mean, heart.

I am fortunate enough to be playing a vulgar and flamboyant 17 year old girl in Moxie’s production of “Hickorydickory.”  My parents just call it “type casting.”  Tapping into this childish and strong willed girl has effected me in more ways than I would have imagined.  10 months.  That is all the time she has left before she dies.  How does she make the 3 trimesters (plus a little) worthwhile?  Does she go sailing?  Does she make a baby?  Or does she just scroll Instant Netflix for hours on end?…….. The final life decisions this young girl must face before her time is up, has greatly changed my outlook on day to day life.  I leave rehearsal wanting to call my parents to tell them I love them, wanting to share a beer with the friends I adore, and wanting to hug my boyfriend a little longer.  These are the moments in life that are precious and dear to me, and I have this 17 year old girl with a gas problem to thank for the reminder.

I am so proud to be a part of this show with such a fantastic cast and an inspiring director.  I have realized that being at the theatre is how I want to spend my months.  So jump in your DeLorean and enjoy an experience that may take you to your future, back to nostalgic childhood memories, or to your present beautiful ones.  I leave you with a quote from one of my favorite philosophers, Ferris Bueller, “Life moves pretty fast.  You don’t stop and look around once in awhile, you could miss it.”

