Amy’s set design is getting me hot

by jenthorn

When I first felt inspired by a photograph of a skate park and thought about using it  as a concept for The Sugar Syndrome,  which has nothing to do with skate parks, I felt a little unsure of sharing my crazy idea with my set designer. 

How cool is this place?

How cool is this place?

When I showed it to her and she totally got it and ran with it…I felt like I had won the lottery.  Amy Chini (read more about Amy in the spotlight they did on her in the San Diego Union-Tribune) just sent me a sketch of what she is thinking about and working through some of the specific needs in the play (places to set things, sit and entrances and exits).  I sent her image back with notes and questions in red.  This process is thrilling.   I am so excited!  Watching another artist create a world in which the actors and I will play and create this play is exhilarating.  I find myself thinking “I wish the audience could know all about this process as they go into the theatre.”  Wait…they can.  Check out drawing # 1 an #2.  I hope when you get to the theatre you’ll see just how cool I think this is going to be!

Amy's Drawing

Amy's Drawing

My explosion of thoughts inspired by Amy's drawing

My explosion of thoughts inspired by Amy's drawing

