Yes We Can

by third planet living

Well, hooray!  Election’s over, we can all breathe again.  While many of us are happy and excited about our new President Elect and celebrating this amazing and crazy time in history, we are also lamenting the passing of Prop 8.

In response to Prop 8 being passed, a friend of mine said something really beautiful… it made me feel better, so I wanted to share it.  She said:

“I think, that the obstacle of ignorance takes time and perseverance to overcome. Yes We Can, just not yet.”

I absolutely love this.  You have suggested that we can move forward without holding onto anger… That we all have within us the determination that defines this country, and that with patience and grace, we will see change.  

I love the peace about it.

It reminds me of water… water, by nature, is fluid and gentle… resists nothing… and yet water, in time, can cut into and dissolve even the toughest stone.

Thanks so much my beautiful friend… I’ll share your words once more…

“I think, that the obstacle of ignorance takes time and perseverance to overcome. Yes We Can, just not yet.”

