Jen Thorn is Changing the World Again

by Esther Emery

Here’s a bit of the email that just popped up in my inbox: 

My professor in college laughed a little snidely at me when he asked if “theater could change the world” and I raised my hand. My classmates, who were all a little more “realistic” than I, rolled their eyes.  If we aren’t doing what we do because on some level we think it matters and can make the world better…then why?  I applaud you for what you do and for putting your hearts into the reading that night. It changed lives. 

Jen is referring to a staged reading we did last season of selections from Paula Vogel’s How I Learned to Drive. It wasn’t even an entire play, and I think it took a total of three rehearsals. And actually, I’m not sure of that, because Jen sent me home after day two, not because I was incompetent, but because she was so on top of her game that she couldn’t figure out how to use me.

Here’s the rest of her email.

I just wanted to write and let you all know that our event was just awarded as one of the top 5 Educational Events in the Pacific Region for the Young Presidents Organizations…It will now move forward to be judged on the Global YPO scale which is has 20,000 members in over 100 countries.  If it wins I will go to Miami to accept an award alongside people from all over the world. I want to thank you all for participating and lending your talent.

Young Presidents Organization is a global leadership network of business owners and CEO’s. Jen teamed up with a YPO presenter to create an educational event using theatre to access the issue of sexual abuse, which is the subject matter of Paula Vogel’s Pulitzer Prize winning play.

Our event was named the “Best Risk-Taking Event 2007-2008” for the Pacific US Region.

Thanks for taking risks, Jen!

