Our Deepest Fear

by third planet living

I took an Earprompter training class this week.  I know, it doesn’t sound like something I would ever do, as I have no intention of being in front of the camera, giving speeches, hosting a telethon, or participating in any other activity that would cause lots of people to look at me all at once.  No sir.  This class was forced upon me by my wonderful boss who insisted I take it.  Since I couldn’t say no to this man, (he treats me like gold), I Earprompted to my heart’s content, and actually, had a tiny bit of fun.

My point in telling you all of this, is that one of the speeches we practiced with was “Our Deepest Fear.”  I don’t know quite who to attribute this to, as I was told it was part of Nelson Mandela’s 1994 inaugural speech, but then read that it was written by Marianne Williamson and never used by Nelson Mandela. So I dunno.  Let’s just say they got together over biscuits and honey, and knocked it out together, alright?  

Anyhoo, I thought it was lovely and wanted to share it…

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

I like that.  Especially the “there’s nothing enlightened about shrinking” part.  Good food for thought.

 

Go’on and be beautiful.

