God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen, Let Nothing Dis-a-may

by Esther Emery

I had the great pleasure of auditioning some youngsters for Cygnet’s A Christmas Carol last night.

Us: This is Sean. He’ll be reading with you. We’ll need you to use your imagination to imagine that he is a girl and he is small, like you.

Them: Okay.

Us: When it gets to this part, just make up stuff about how great the Christmas dinner will be and how excited you are.  It’s okay to go a little crazy.

Them: Sage and onions are, like, really yummy! Yum, sage and onions! But I wish it was turkey because goose is, like, eww. 

Us: Now I’ll be your brother. Tell me about how you’re going to bring me home for Christmas and how much fun we’re going to have.

Them: I’ve come to bring you home, dear brother!  Home! And we’re going to have so much fun!  Because…we can sit around!

I love their brave souls.

