So and So’s such and such

by third planet living

“The first duty of a human being is to assume the right functional relationship to society — more briefly, to find your real job, and do it.

                                        ~Charlotte Perkins Gilman

 

It sounds so simple, doesn’t it?  Find your real job and do it.  Get out there, cowpoke, ain’t nuttin’ to it.  Sigh.  I really do love this quote though.  I think finding one’s real job  can make or break a person’s happiness. 

It also shows how connected we are to what we do for a living.  It’s a huge part of our “identity,” which we create and recreate our entire lives.  If you’re not sure what yours identity is looking like these days, just go to a party and see how you’re introduced.

Missy recently had someone introduce himself to her as “Ashley’s assistant.”  No name, just “Ashley’s assistant.”  Hmm.  Maybe he assumed that Missy would know who Ashley was (she didn’t) and it would be the easiest association, requiring the least amount of explanation.  Maybe being Ashley’s assistant is prestigious, and he was proud to say he was it.  Maybe he doesn’t feel like he has a strong identity outside of that role.

I think we definitely choose how we introduce ourselves at different times and in different situations.  But is who we are as important as what we do? Are the two distinguishable? Is there a place where everything about a person is relevant?

I don’t think we have time for it.  I think in our society, we are our jobs.  It’s clean, it’s simple.  I mean, when’s the last time you were our somewhere and someone introduced you:

“This is Missy Bradstreet, she’ll give you the shirt off her back.” 

It leaves room for questions whereas, “This is Missy our stage manager,” is neat and tidy.  It’s over as soon as it’s begun.  No conversation required.

Obviously we dig more deeply into our friendships, but my point is, it’s our first instinct to talk about someone’s job.  It would be nice if some of the person bled through a little more often.

I think we’re missing out big-time if we don’t take a moment to discover the little pieces that make up the whole; details are usually more interesting.

In the spirit of the “little pieces,” here are some little known facts… some juicy morsels from those you know and love:

 

Delicia~

1. I took honors calculus in HS (so that’s five years – Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, Trig, Calculus).   I took Geometry in summer school, cause I’m a nerd and wanted to spend my junior year taking trig and learning how to use the fancy calculator.  So while most of my friends had at least one off period senior year, I was taking Honors Chemistry and Honors Calc back to back.  The thing I’m most proud of is when the boy needs help with his math homework, I never have to say “go ask your Dad”

2. I knit booties

 

 Missy~

Hmmmm, this is hard since I never shut up, and talk endlessly about myself…

I’m grateful for all of the “material” things that I have, but sometimes wish I had none of it.  A tiny little place in the world with room for my family, and no more stuff. Simplicity. I long for that.

 

 Esther~

 I scored 800 on the Analytical section of the GRE. No, I didn’t go to grad school.

 

 Jo Anne~

When I was a kid, I used to watch Westerns with my grandfather. LOVED them – although even as a little girl, I realized that if I were going to be in a western, I’d have to be either a whore or a plain farm woman and always wondered which I’d be.

 

Dustin~

OK so I’m pretty dedicated to staying back stage.  I’ll run lights or sound, build, paint, even call the show. But I am not a performer. (Everybody knows that!)

The unknown fact is that it wasn’t always the case.  When I was three, I played a munchkin in the  “Wizard of Oz” show at the Ramona Town Hall.  To my knowledge, no evidence of this performance remains.  🙂

 

Jen~

Something very few people know about me…

I suffered from some awful acne in high school.  It was so bad there were
days when I wouldn’t go to school. The thought of people looking at my face
made me so anxious I would rather stay home.

 

Gwen~


I once (back in my activist youth) dressed up as a pig to protest the Oscar Meyer Wienermobile. Here’s proof.
http://www.metroactive.com/papers/metro/08.14.97/slices-9733.html
Oh, those were the days.

 

Chelsea~

Cereal and tap dancing.

 

 Amy~

I can play O Susanna like a mutha trucka on the harmonica.

I once won first prize AND best of show at the Del Mar Fair.

I have 120.5 semester units from Palomar College.  During my (long) career there, I received two “C’s”, tarnishing my beautiful GPA… one in photography and one in yoga!

 

Feel free to comment with your own little-known fact!

